Give a damn

I had a week off after we packed up and shut down the shop, before I went over to work out my notice in another store. I probably should’ve done something constructive like finding a new job! But I mainly watched Netflix and the BBC Glastonbury coverage in my pyjamas! It was the week of the EU referendum and the appallingly shameful Brexit result which has now resulted in all the leading politicians involved in the vote campaigns resigning and leaving the young people who’s majority vote was to remain in the EU bewildered as to what the future will now hold. I watched Matt Healy give a particularly insightful speech in the middle of The 1975’s Glastonbury set (from the comfort of my living room obvz) touching on the subject of the older generation voting in a future young people don’t want. “Glastonbury stands for everything that our generation fucking wants. Compassion, social responsibility, unity, community, everything like that. Fucking loving people. And I think that when you stand on a stage like this, in front of so many obviously beautiful, intelligent people, it’s difficult to say nothing…”

With that in mind and feeling like I gave a crap about politics enough to make an educated visit to the polling station for the first time in a long time, onto the Glasto pyramid stage struts Alex Turner wearing the ‘Give a damn’ t shirt Alexa Chung was also photographed wearing, accompanied by scouse hottie Miles Kane for The Last Shadow Puppets set. Wow! I just love the pair of them and the energy of their relationship. They’ve changed and grown up since the last album in 2008 when they were sporting turtle necks and Beatles haircuts, but the vintage inspired vibe is still going strong. I read some pretty scathing reviews of the new album when it was released back in the spring, calling it a pastiche and an in joke between a millionaire rock star and his pal, implying that they are not taking the music they create together seriously and that it’s fuelled by arrogance and ego. The both men were personally attacked for how they behave in interviews and conduct their lives. I don’t think it’s true that The Last Shadow Puppets were conceived out of arrogance and boredom. It seems to me that two very talented musicians met through their careers and made an amazing creative and personal connection. Since the Glastonbury set they have played Manchester Castlefield Bowl with a guest appearance from Johnny Marr of The Smiths, yes THE Smiths!! How can they not be recognised as a seminal indie band of the noughties through to now with the approval of a founding member of the group that created indie music?!

Regardless of the attitude they give in interviews and acting aloof and self indulgent, the music and lyrics they put out there really inspires and influences their fans. That said I am totally feeling the retro Scott Walker, David Bowie-esque tunes and stage presence. I’m completely captured in this dreamy bubble of vintage, 60’s mod revival and 70’s kinda laid back glam rock vibe with some unashamed beautifully decadent dance moves on Turner’s part! As for Miles Kane, he is undoubtedly Britain’s best dressed male, and seems to have gone from gormless to oozing sexiness in his tight trousers and loafers!

My imagination has been fuelled by this band and it’s my birthday tomorrow, so I’ve requested a “Give a damn” t-shirt from The Deep End Club, which is a label set up by Tennessee Thomas, who owns a store in New York by the same name. Her BFF Alexa Chung has modelled the collection in a 70’s style shoot around New York. I can’t wait to get mine and wear it with my metallic booties from Office and my peace sign necklace and I’m so into face glitter right now, I’ll definitely be rocking some sparkle!! I’m sure i’ll be posting some OOTD posts on Instagram! I’m going on holiday in a couple of weeks and I’ve been shopping for hols with the same TLSP inspired mood. My holiday outfits will also no doubt be posted on my instagram! Innocence and arrogance entwined! Peace Out, Pixie x

 

 

 

Leave a comment