Monochrome 

Lately I’ve been interior crushing on Scandinavian black and white style homes on Instagram and Pinterest. When I first moved into my house my living room was grey, black and white with my lovely mid century tree print wallpaper. Now I’ve layered many colours on top with cushions and accessories and the addition of my blue eames rocking chair and the yellow woven moon chair I rescued from a charity shop!

Processed with VSCO with a5 preset

Now I’m sat here staring at a mustard yellow wall and my Orla Kiely lampshade like whyyyy? Why didn’t I stick to a nice monochrome look with touches of wood, which I could now add a splash of copper to with accessories and some cute industrial type bulbs to keep it fresh and relevant.

I asked Paul at half seven this morning if he knew how to peel wallpaper off, to which he replied with the question “what wallpaper are you scraping off now?!” When I said the kitchen Orla Kiely paper I had a lecture about leaving it there since it cost a fortune! Then my mind wandered to the kitchen units and tiles and I think I would really like to just start again which then leads me to thoughts on moving house and starting a whole house over! Deciding this was probably my favourite idea, I left the wallpaper and yellow wall alone! But I still had a hankering for a little IKEA trip and some on trend black and white pieces. So off I went feeling inspired!

img_4177

I set myself a £100 budget and since the weather has been so nice this week decided to make a cute seating area for the back end of my patio.  And here it is…

img_4162
I got two white chairs, a white side table, 2 striped cushions, 2 black cushions, a faux sheep skin in grey, a stripey blanket and a cute Wee Willy Winky candle holder in black and wood all within budget and all fitted in my tiny car! The temperature has drastically dropped the last two days but I’ve still made Paul sit out for tea and biscuits, remarking that the cushions and blankets are there to make it cosy and the tea will keep us warm!


The lovely cactus LED was a birthday gift from my lovely friend Sophie, and the faux plants are IKEA ones I already had. The little rattan stool is Sainsbury’s along with the black string lights. Next stop is B&Q for some real plants and hopefully I can steer myself away from the decorating aisles!

Pixie x

 

Leave a Reply

